top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Robinson

My sun pitcher plant has flared pitchers! Why?

A few months after receiving my first sun pitcher plant, H. heterodaxa x minor, I noticed that the pitchers were not forming properly. They had flared openings as well as reduced nectar spoons.


Below, you can see an example of the flared pitcher on the left and a normal pitcher on the right.



But why was this happening? I grow my heliamphora under LED lights, positioned at the edge of my terrarium, with high humidity and watered using chilled distilled water.


It turns out that flared pitchers can be caused by low light conditions. When I moved the plant to the middle of the terrarium, where it is more directly under the LED lights, it immediately started to produce normal pitchers again.


I love it when the problem can be solved so simply! Below you can see a photo of the new, nicely formed pitcher, that it is just about to open!


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page