top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Robinson

Crochet Nepenthes - A focus on N. bicalcarata

I've been crocheting for close to 8 years now and growing carnivorous plants for most of that time as well. Eventually, I decided to combine my to hobbies and this is one of the results!


My first project, Nepenthes bicalcarata:



I've always been fascinated by the fanged pitcher plant and, while I don't have the correct setup to grow one personally, there's nothing stopping me from making one! Both pitchers are made using a combination of yarn and crochet thread. The crochet thread is much thinner than typical yarn and allows me to add the details for the peristome, fangs, lid, and wings running down the body of each pitcher.


The process:

For each pitcher I create and write the pattern as I work. First I start by finding as many photos online that show the pitcher from each angle. Then, I start crocheting, writing the pattern up as I go. I start with the body of the pitcher and make a first version of it.


The first time through the pitcher never looks quite right so I compare it to the photos, note which stitches don't look quite right, and start over, altering the stitches in the trouble spots as I go. I often do this two or three times per pattern, improving it each time until I'm happy with it.


Next, I switch to the crochet thread and work the peristome and lid. Crochet thread allows you to add more detail to the work such as in the lid (see photo below) where you can add spacing between the stitches to make it look more interesting. This creates a nice contract between the solid body of the pitcher and the more open spacing for the lid.


Last, I crochet the stem, and fangs and sew them onto the pitcher. The wings running down the pitcher are crocheted straight onto it.


Closeup looks:


The lower pitcher


The upper pitcher



Thoughts on what I should crochet next? Let me know through comments or send me a message with your suggestion.

262 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page